Tips for Eating Gluten-Free on the Fourth of July

4thofjulypicnic

Looks like a cool 4th of July Party! (circa 1914)

It’s that time of year to celebrate our Independence from Great Britain by doing what Americans do best…(over)indulging in food, drink, and merriment. Let the party begin!

However, if you want to party like it’s 1776, but still avoid gluten, check out these tips to help make your Fourth of July a gluten-free one.

1) Beer: We know you love it, but beer=gluten. There are so many awesome gluten-free beers coming out you should give them a try, some of our favorites include Harvester Brewing, Bard’s, Green’s, and Omission. Tell us your favorites in the comment section below. Also, cider is a great option as well (but beware of that sugar hangover).

2) Hamburgers: Just make your own. If you buy those pre-formed patties at the store, it’s very likely they will contain wheat as a filler. Just as an FYI, you should check out this article about what happens when friends let friends prepare “gluten-free” food. Also, you’ll be wanting to use a gluten-free bun or no bun at all.

3) Hot Dogs: It depends on the brand. surefoodsliving.com has a great list. Again, you’ll have to use a gluten-free bun or go bunless.

4) Beans: The grand-daddy of them all, Bush’s, claims on their website that ALL of their products are gluten-free. So go ahead, stock up on Bush’s and give yourself a bean bath.

5) Salads: If it’s of the “green” variety, and full of fresh veggies you have nothing to worry about (but watch those croutons). If it already has salad dressing on it, you’ll need to be “that guy” and ask to see the label of whatever dressing was used. If it’s some other kind of salad (pasta, potato, egg, etc.) and you didn’t make it, then definitely beware (especially if it’s store bought). So, while you’re asking to see the label on that salad dressing, you may as well ask to see the label for whatever store-bought salad is being served.

6) Condiments: If you’re going to load your burger, hot dog, chicken patty, or other meat item with condiments (and you know you will), here’s a quick list of popular condiments (quick note: although many of are considered gluten-free there can still be the chance for cross-contamination).

  • Hellman’s Mayonnaise
  • Heinz Ketchup
  • Kraft Miracle Whip
  • Kraft Mayonnaise
  • French’s Mustard
  • Hunt’s Ketchup
  • Grey Poupon
  • Frank’s Red Hot

7) Chips: This topic deserves a separate post, but chips are all over the place in terms of their ingredients (so read those labels!). Many brands  contain gluten, so to keep this simple, we recommend Kettle Brand chips as they are gluten-free (and processed in a gluten-free facility as well!). If you can’t find Kettle chips, Frito Lay is everywhere and they have a list of snacks on their website that have been tested to contain <20ppm of gluten.

Hopefully these tips give you a little something to help make your Fourth of July a fun (and gluten-free) one. Tips/comments/thoughts/feedback? Let us know by leaving a comment below!

 

 


The GFB: Now Available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!