Is Heineken® Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart0 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 0/10


Note: Gluten-Free Options Are Available For This Product

There’s a lot of controversy with Heineken and its gluten-free status, but here are the facts. 1) Heineken contains barley, which is a gluten-containing grain (for reference, here is Heineken’s statement on their website). 2) Due to various processes the company has in place, the gluten count goes down, and Heineken tests below the 20ppm. Does this make Heineken gluten-free?

We here at the GFB personally believe that if it contains a gluten ingredient in its inception, this makes Heineken not gluten-free. There are so many great gluten-free beers and ciders out there to choose from, we recommend you buy something else. Please read the ingredient and nutrition label carefully. Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!


  • JG

    Still the gluten content is .00005. My boyfriend and his brother both have celiac and drink Heineken often. So…yes, not entirely gluten free by standards, but such a low threshold even the worst celiacs (that i know) can tolerate it.

  • Jeffiekins

    The CDC says (your tax dollars at work!) that below 20ppm is safe for people with Celiac disease.

    Not everyone agrees that they are being strict enough: it seems that probably some people are more sensitive than “normal.”

  • Mayour Rabbanian

    Which beer is gluten-free

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!