Is Jack Daniels Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart7 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 7/10

Jack Daniels whiskey is one of the most famous whiskies from Tennessee, and it follows a specific recipe. A typical Tennessee whiskey must contain between 51%-79% corn or maize, both of which are gluten-free grains. The remaining percentage can be made out of a mash of different grains, and this usually includes a grain made out of gluten in this mash. As with other alcoholic beverages, the gluten protein is removed during the distillation process, so in some circles it’s considered “technically” gluten-free. Other people report that they get a reaction from Jack Daniels (and other alcohols distilled from gluten-containing grains).

Ultimately, it’s going to come down to your personal level of gluten sensitivity. For the record, Jack Daniels says on their site that gluten is removed during the distillation process, but Jack Daniels is not “certified” gluten-free and no other information re: testing for gluten is available.

 


  • Sarandipity Vegas

    So, about 85% of the time I drink Jack Daniels my face will a get blotchy red “rash” type of this and become very hot. It is thought that I have celiac disease , would that be the cause of it?

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi Sarandipity – we’re not in the position to be giving medical advice – but it’s possible that you are reacting to trace gluten amounts in Jack Daniels. Do you have reactions to other products that definitely contain gluten such as bread, pasta, beer, etc?

      • Whiskey Trail

        After recent trips to a couple sour mash distilleries (that must remain un-named), I’ve discovered some of the mash remaining in the still is being tossed into the final distilled product, as I was told, “…to add flavor…”

        The “gluten free” product is being contaminated, after the distillation process, and not filtered further.

        • theglutenfreebar

          Whoa – that’s interesting….and pretty unbelievable they would do that. Are we talking big name places or more “craft” places?

    • Sarah

      It could also be possible that you have high blood pressure, this is a common reaction when drinking.

    • Jeffiekins

      I know someone who has this exact same reaction to many (not all) red wines, but no reaction to Jack. Seems like it’s something else. Also, have never heard of *this* reaction to gluten. I suppose it’s possible (though very unlikely) you have an allergy to one of the grains used to make it, but you’d probably know that from eating it.

  • Laurie

    http://www.jackdaniels.com/faqs

    “What are the calorie, sugar, and gluten contents of Jack Daniel’s?
    Jack Daniel’s Black Label Tennessee Whiskey has no carbohydrates (sugar or starch), gluten, fats, or cholesterol, as these are removed in the distilling process. One fluid ounce of Jack Daniel’s contains approximately 65 calories.”

    • theglutenfreebar

      Thanks Laurie – we have updated the article based on this information but still there are caveats. Let us know what you think.

  • Flossy

    I have a gluten sensitivity and cannot eat pastas or breads but Jack and Ginger is my drink of choice and never have gotten a reaction

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!