Is Kahlua Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart6 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 6/10

There’s a little controversy over Kahlua. This coffee based liqueur contains something called a “neutral grain spirit” which is derived from wheat at this time. This neutral grain spirit that contains gluten is distilled, and in that process the gluten protein is removed during that process, therefore making it supposedly safe.

So if you are gluten-free, you’re probably wondering if you should drink Kahlua or not. Other than the “neutral grain spirit” noted above, all other ingredients in Kahlua are gluten-free. Some gluten-free people are able to drink Kahlua with no problems, and others get sick. We advise you take caution with consuming Kahlua if you are highly sensitive to gluten, and recommend you drink another gluten-free beverage instead. Please read the ingredient and nutrition label carefully. Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!


The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!