Is Stolichnaya Vodka Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart4 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 4/10

Stolichnaya Vodka is made from a blend of wheat and rye, which means they source ingredients that are not gluten-free. However, there is still some controversy as to whether or not Stolichnaya vodka is gluten-free. In a nutshell, the distillation process supposedly removes gluten proteins from any wheat/rye-based vodka, but many people report feeling the effects of gluten contamination after consuming vodka (and yes they claim it’s not just the hangover).

Luckily, there’s good news! If you consume a non-wheat-based vodka (made from grapes, potatoes or corn), chances are you should be ok. Please read the ingredient and nutrition label carefully. Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!


  • Jeffiekins

    According to most scientists (including the CDC), gluten stays behind in the the source liquid during the distillation process, and any amount that may get through is well within the “safe” range (under 20 ppm).

    On the other hand, it seems some people are unusually sensitive.

    FWIW, I have trouble with many “generally considered gluten-free” foods, but Stoli doesn’t seem to bother me at all.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi Jeff – thanks for the comment and for sharing your experiences. It’s not all that uncommon (from what we hear).

  • Mila

    They have one special brand of gluten free vodka called stoli; it’s made from the destilation of corn!

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!