Is Wine Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart9 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 9/10

In almost all cases wine is gluten-free. However, there are situations when wine can contain gluten. Additives to wine to that enhance color and/or flavor (most often found in desert wines) may contain gluten. Some wines use gluten as a clarifying agent and sometimes wheat paste was actually used to seal the cask that the wine was aged in. These situations are often not disclosed on the bottle so you would have to contact the manufacturer to be absolutely sure.


  • Pingback: 5 Perks of a Gluten Free Valentine's Day | The Official Gluten-Free Blog by The GFB™()

  • Dude

    diagnosed a year ago at the age of 40. it’s a nightmare trying to get the truth out of producers. Even the celiac association of Ireland provides false information. According to them Whiskey, vodka and many others are gluten free! !!!! which they are not.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hang in there, Dude. You’re right, lots of misinformation out there. But we’re a growing community and when we share our knowledge, everyone wins. Thanks for the comment.

    • Jennifer Duffey

      40 is when mine got worse too. It’s been hard to go to events or friends get togethers. I web everything and I look at multi sites veggie I feel safe.

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!