Are Starbucks drinks Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart5 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 5/10

Most Starbucks beverages are gluten-free but things can change so if you’re wary at all please ask a barista. Below is a list of Starbucks gluten-free offerings that is based off of the list on Gluten Free Guide HQ but it updated based on some new information. NOTE: At the bottom of this list are Starbucks products that are considered to NOT be gluten-free

Starbucks Gluten-Free Items

Regular Drinks

Starbucks DoubleShot Energy+…all flavors
Starbucks Bottled Frappucino Coffee Drink…all flavors
Bold Pick of the Day
Café Misto
Clover Brewed Coffee
Coffee Traveler
Decaf Pike Place Roast
Iced Coffee
Iced Coffee with Milk
Pike Place Roast
Hot Chocolate
Peppermint Hot Chocolate
Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate
White Hot Chocolate
All Expresso
All Vivanno Smoothies
All Tazo Teas EXCEPT: Green Ginger, Tazo Honeybush, Lemon Ginger, and Tea Lemonade
All Kid’s Drinks

Frappuccino Blended Beverages

Café Vanilla
Caramel
Caramel Brulee
Cinnamon Dolce
Cinnamon Crème
Coconut Crème
Coffee
Espresso
Extra Coffee
Mocha Coconut
Mocha
Peppermint Mocha
Soy Strawberries Crème (“Starbucks uses Eden organic soy milk, so if ordering something soy you need to ask which version they are using. The unsweetened does not contain gluten, but the original does.)
Tazo Chai Crème
Tazo Green Teal Crème
White Chocolate Crème
White Chocolate Mocha

Salads

Deluxe Fruit Blend

 

Starbucks Items That Do/May Contain Gluten

Java Chip Frappuccino (due to cookie crumbles)

Yogurt Parfaits (due to use of non certified gluten-free oats)

Dark Cherry Yogurt Parfait
Strawberry and Blueberry Yogurt Parfait
Greek Yogurt Parfait


  • Dr. Guest

    the chips used in the java chip fraps contain wheat, the vanilla powder used for the vanilla creme and strawberry creme fraps contains barley malt, they only use vanilla soy milk which does contain gluten, their salads are NOT prepared in a safe way and cross-contamination is HUGE, and the granola on the yogurt parfaits contains conventional oats and barley malt syrup.

    • Jen

      Strawberries and creme frappuccinos do not contain vanilla bean powder.

  • Gluten-Free Barista

    In Canada, the soy milk is gluten-free, it’s regular, not vanilla flavoured.

    It’s true that a lot of drinks are gluten free, HOWEVER, please inform your barista because cross-contamination will almost ALWAYS occur otherwise! I always ask for a brand new, just sanitized blender for cold drinks or a new pitcher and sppon for hot drinks (also ask them to let the steaming wand clean itself for about 10 seconds by pulling the handle, there could be leftovers from the last drink).
    With frappuccinos, I’m pretty sure the Canadian vanilla powder is gluten-free (I could be wrong), you can always ask to see the bag and read the ingredients. Also make sure if you’re ordering a frap, if it contains matcha, vanilla bean powder, or fruit for the refreshers, that you look at the environment it’s in. These items are all kept out on the counter and cross contamination often occurs from spills or shared spoons. If you’re dying for a vanilla bean or matcha frap, ask if they’d be willing to open a new bag and use a new spoon. For refreshers, same thing, or just ask for no fruit.

    I was a barista for two years, it’s not really that hard you just need to make sure everything’s clean so there’s no cross contamination, and if in doubt, ask to see the package, ingredients are always listed!

  • njesst

    What about the pumpkin spiced latte?

  • This menu looks familiar. Could you link back to the original source please (aka. my website, Gluten Free Guide HQ) that would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

    • theglutenfreebar

      No worries Adam – we’ve made that edit.

  • wrong

    This is completely wrong! FRAPPACINOS ARE NOT GLUTEN FREE! I am writing this post from my toilet after having a Java chip frappacino today – you need to revise your list ASAP.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Thanks for the comment – you’re right on the Java Chip Frappuccino being not gluten-free (apparently due to the cookie crumbs they mix into the drink). Our apologies for the mis-information. We’ve updated this listing to reflect this information.

  • merr

    so can we driink caremel frappicino ?

    • theglutenfreebar

      Probably. We do have it listed as gluten-free but you should still approach with caution as things can change at any time. I would highly recommend you ask the barista for on-the-spot info.

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!