Are M&M’s Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart7 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 7/10

Regular M&M’s are gluten-free however there are many different varieties of M&M’s and some of them do contain wheat.

Here are the different varieties of M&M’s that are considered gluten-free as of this writing (June 2016). This list may be incomplete.

  • M&M’s Original Milk Chocolate
  • M&M’s Peanut
  • M&M’s Peanut Butter
  • M&M’S Almond
  • M&M’s Dark Chocolate
  • M&M’s Dark Chocolate Peanut
  • M&M’S Heart Gift Box
  • M&M’S Minis

For other varieties of M&M’s please read the ingredient and nutrition labels very carefully.  Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!

Please note that the above information applies to M&M’s sold in the US only. Formulations in other countries may include wheat products, as is the case in Australia (please see comments section below for details).


  • Michele @ The Hills are Alive

    This must be different in Australia? As I am SURE the ingredients in M and Ms include wheat starch

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi Michele – thanks for the question. I checked out the US and Australian official M&M’s websites and you are right, M&M’s in Australia do contain wheat (so they would definitely not be gluten-free). Thank you for pointing this out! We will revise the article to reflect this.

      M&M’s US Ingredient List: MILK CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, CHOCOLATE, SKIM MILK, COCOA BUTTER, LACTOSE, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN, SALT, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR), SUGAR, CORNSTARCH, LESS THAN 1% – CORN SYRUP, DEXTRIN, COLORING (INCLUDES BLUE 1 LAKE, YELLOW 6, RED 40, YELLOW 5, BLUE 1, RED 40 LAKE, BLUE 2 LAKE, YELLOW 6 LAKE, BLUE 2), GUM ACACIA. CONTAINS MILK AND SOY. MAY CONTAIN PEANUTS.

      M&M’s Australia Ingredient List: Milk Chocolate 68% (Sugar, Milk Solids, Cocoa Mass, Cocoa Butter, Vegetable Fat, Emulsifier (Soy Lecithin), Salt, Flavour), Sugar, Starch (Sources include Wheat), Glucose Syrup (Sources Include Wheat), Vegetable Gum (414), Colours (171, 129, 133, 110, 102), Thickener (Dextrin), Glazing Agent (903).

  • dean

    The mega m&ms say may contain wheat

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi Dean – thanks for the comment. I cannot find any hard data on the fact that these may contain wheat. Are you in the US? Can you upload an image of the label where it says this?

  • Patrick Handy

    Are the mars chocolate m and m bars gluten free ?

  • Gluten free in BZ

    All M&M’s in Brazil have gluten as well.

    • Sue banks

      Can any one tell me wether chocolate m&m’s are gluten free

      • theglutenfreebar

        in the US, regular chocolate M&Ms are “considered” to be gluten-free.

  • jamieson

    Is the regular m&ms gluten free it has soy letichin

  • Dana

    Just checked my bag of m&m’s Eggs and to my surprise they said “may contain wheat”. Bummer…

  • Sukey

    Just checked both packages I bought: M&M s MILK CHOCOLATE( regular M& Ms) AND a package of M&Ms MILK CHOCOLATE WITH PEANUT BUTTER, and neither listed wheat in the ingredients. They do mention Soy Lecithin …….. is that not allowed if one has Celiac?

  • thehighshelf

    m&ms (in the u.s.) are not reliably gluten free. after the week i’ve had, i’m becoming very unwilling to purchase anything from a company that doesn’t actively advertise themselves as gf. i’m tired of doing their work for them and ending up this sick.

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!