Is Jell-O Gluten Free?

glutenfreechart9 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 9/10

Kraft (the manufacturer of Jell-O) has a policy that it will disclose any gluten containing ingredients on it’s packaging.  Jell-O brand gelatin does not contain any gluten ingredients and Jell-O is considered to be gluten-free, but there is a possibility of cross-contamination during manufacturing. It is for this reason (and the fact that it is not certified gluten-free) that we cannot give it a 10/10 score. To be safe, you should always read the labels. Please read the ingredient and nutrition label carefully. Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!


  • Brigitte

    I just got off the phone with Kraft and the representative informed me that they only claim three of their products to be gluten-free. If it was gluten-free it would say so on the packaging, and the natural flavor listed in the ingredients is what contains gluten. I’m glad I called because lots of online gluten-free or celiac sites are claiming that Jell-O is gluten-free when it actually is not.

  • Frances

    I have Jello here and it says on the package that it is gluten free? Funny that Kraft didn’t know this – but not surprised either 🙂

  • I will not buy anything from Kraft. They will say if something has any known allergens in it, they label it but They will also say it is not guaranteed that that allergen is in fact in there and for that reason they wont put gluten free on their packaging. We called them about velveeta one time and they told my husband that all the ingredients that make up the cheese comes in unmarked packaging from other places and they had no idea what it was really made up of. If you dont find that disturbing, I dont know what will. Who the knows what you are eating. Yeah, I think I will stay away from Kraft products. They are not safe.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Thank you Gina for the comment. That’s a good perspective for our readers to be aware of.

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!