Are Cheerios Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart9 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 9/10

In the US, the following varieties of Cheerios are now gluten-free. Note that while the packaging does have the gluten-free claim, no Cheerios products are certified gluten-free by a third party.

  • Original Cheerios
  • Honey Nut Cheerios
  • Multi Grain Cheerios
  • Apple Cinnamon Cheerios
  • Frosted Cheerios
  • Pumpkin Spice Cheerios
  • Fruity Cheerios
  • Chocolate Cheerios

At the time of this writing the following flavors of Cheerios are NOT considered to be gluten-free

  • Honey Nut Cheerios Medley Crunch
  • Cheerios + Ancient Grains
  • Cheerios Protein Cinnamon Almond
  • Cheerios Protein Oats & Honey
  • Banana Nut Cheerios
  • Multi Grain Peanut Butter Cheerios
  • Multi Grain Cheerios Dark Chocolate Crunch

  • John

    I purchased a box of gluten free cheerios in BJs several months ago. Now I can not find gluten free cheerios anywhere. Did GM stop making them?

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi John – thanks for the question. To the best of my knowledge (and after doing some more research) I do not think GM has ever made gluten-free Cheerios. Could you possibly have been thinking of gluten-free Chex cereal? Or something like this http://us.naturespath.com/product/whole-ostm-cereal ?

  • David

    You claim they Cheerios are not gluten free –

    “All Cheerios products either contain or may contain wheat/gluten”

    Based upon what information / evidence ?

    I am skeptical of all claims (corporate, government and yes, even activist)
    that wholly lack independent facts to base it on.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi David. You’re right to be skeptical. Cheerios contain oats (which unless they are certified gluten-free, they are assumed to be contaminated with gluten). Cheerios also contain wheat starch, so that definitely makes them not gluten-free. You can review ingredient information at cheerios website http://www.cheerios.com/Products/Cheerios#.Um292_nV-So

  • donna

    is love crunch premium organic granola dark chocolate and red berries gluten free..nature path brand

    • theglutenfreebar

      Thanks for the comment! Those are indeed tasty cereals!

  • bearing
  • Michelle

    This information is outdated. Cheerios will be gluten free starting July 2015, and will be fully in retailers by September 2015. Lucky Charms will also be gluten free by fall 2015.

  • Jeffiekins

    Gluten-free Cheerios (several varieties) are in my local grocery store now.

    Be careful: not all varieties are gluten-free. Plain and Apple-Cinnamon are, for sure.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Thanks for the heads-up. We were a little late in updating this entry but we have now updated it with the full listing of all Cheerios flavors and whether they are gluten-free or not.

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!