Is Chex Cereal Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart5 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 5/10

Most varieties of Chex are gluten-free with one glaring version of Chex that is not gluten-free. Rice Chex, Corn Chex, Honey Nut Chex, Cinnamon Chex, Chocolate Chex, and Vanilla Chex are all gluten-free. The one type of Chex that is not gluten-free is Wheat Chex. So if you have a gluten sensitivity or are celiac definitely avoid Wheat Chex but otherwise you should be good to go!


  • Mary McLennan

    Assuming this blog is not updated regularly, as Chex Cereals are all gluten free (except, of course, for the wheat flavor). The same goes for most of the Cheerios Cereals. So I wonder how outdated any other items may be … I was so happy to find this blog, but now I have to wonder 🙁

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi Mary – thanks for the note. You’re right that this article was out of date in terms of listing all the new gf flavors of Chex and there were a couple flavors of Cheerios that are now gf that were not at the time of writing. We have updated both of the articles to reflect the new info. We do make an effort to keep this blog as updated as possible but with so many products and flavor changes, etc it is difficult. We’ll keep trying though! Have a great day.

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!