Is Kraft Miracle Whip Gluten Free?

glutenfreechart9 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 9/10

Kraft has a clear policy where they will clearly state on their label if a product contains a gluten ingredient. Miracle Whip does not have any of those ingredients, so it is gluten-free but because it is not certified gluten-free we cannot give it a perfect 10/10 score.


  • Janet Petrak

    The label on Kraft Miracle Whip states it contains modified corn starch. What is the corn start modified with?

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi Janet – thanks for the comment. From what I understand, modified corn starch is basically a degraded form of corn starch. I’m not sure anything is actually added to it, but rather it is broken down and it typically acts as an emulsifier. That’s my understanding but I’m not an expert.

  • Ian Settlemyer

    The regular Miracle Whip seems to be fine, but I think that the light type has modified food starch, and my father said that modified food starch has gluten in it unless the product is certified gluten-free.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi Ian – thanks for the comment. It’s good to be cautious and you can’t always trust that labels are 100% accurate. Since wheat is a major allergen food manufacturers are required to disclose that on their labels. Modified food starch does not always contain gluten, but it can. If it did (and In a perfect world) you would see on that label something like: “modified wheat starch,” modified starch (wheat)” or at the end of the ingredients list it would say something like “contains wheat”. I hope that helps.

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!