Is Malt Vinegar Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart0 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 0/10

All Malt Vinegars contain barley, which is a gluten containing grain. This would lend us to think that Malt Vinegar is not gluten-free and not safe for people on a gluten-free diet. But as time has gone on, the controversy has grown amongst Celiac groups all over the world. Malt Vinegars do have to go through a fermentation process (similar to alcohol), and the final product has a trace amount of gluten left, but it is well below the 20ppm most people use a guideline. This means there are some gluten-free folks out there who could possibly have Malt Vinegar and not get sick.

There are plenty of other vinegars out there that are all naturally gluten-free (Cider, Balsamic, etc.), so check out your local store aisles the next time you shop for something that’s definitely gluten-free.


The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!