Is Ragu Sauce Gluten Free?

glutenfreechart5 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 5/10

It depends on the flavor when determining if Ragu pasta sauce is gluten-free. For example, Ragu Traditional style and Ragu Old World Style pasta sauces are gluten-free, but Ragu Robusto Parmesan & Romano as well as Ragu Mama’s Garden pasta sauces contain barley in its ingredient list (which would make it not gluten-free). Please read the labels when trying to determine if a particular style of Ragu pasta sauce is gluten-free. Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!


  • Tammy Lynn

    Not sure how old this post is but I just went to use the Robusto Parmesan and Romano sauce and it contains “cheese cultures from barley” 🙁 luckily I caught it in time before serving it to my 4 year old

    • theglutenfreebar

      Thanks for the heads up Tammy! The situation with Ragu has changed since we last updated this entry and we revised the article based on your feedback.

  • AmyJayne

    The mamas garden has barley flour in it.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Thank you for the comment! I have updated the food listing to reflect this information.

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!