Is Wasabi Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart7 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 7/10


Wasabi is generally gluten-free, but the quality of Wasabi varies and this can impact the gluten-free status. Real wasabi is made mainly from the wasabi plant, which is native in Japan. Because these plants are expensive, much of the wasabi eaten in the US is pre-made wasabi composed of ingredients like horseradish, mustard, and some form of starch – this will usually be corn starch, but it can be wheat starch. If your sushi restaurant uses a pre-made wasabi, you can likely ask to check the label and confirm it is corn starch. The vast majority of wasabi should be OK to consume on a gluten-free diet.


The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!