Is Cheese Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart7 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 7/10

Simple cheese is really just some milk, enzymes, and bacteria…and in that case, cheese would be gluten-free. However, cheese comes in many more flavors and varieties. Here are a couple of things to keep in mind when figuring out if cheese is gluten free or not.

  1. Added flavorings or ingredients. You have to check that nutrition label carefully! While gluten is present in various grains, the most prevalent is wheat. In the United States, wheat is considered a major allergen and manufacturers are required to disclose that a product contains wheat on their nutrition label.
  2. Cross contamination. This can happen in the facility where that cheese is produced or even in the neighborhood deli where the cheese is sliced. Cross contamination happens when the food comes in contact with surfaces where gluten is present.

Generally, you will find that most pre-packaged, from-the-factory cheese is gluten-free but by no means is all cheese gluten-free.


The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!