Is Wendy’s Chili Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart8 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 8/10

Wendy’s Chili is supposed to be gluten-free and most people have reported that they have not had any issues after eating Wendy’s Chili. We have seen reports that Wendy’s uses the meat from unsold burgers in their chili (and therefore the meat contacted the buns and could be contaminated), however, a former Wendy’s employee commented below (see comments section) that this does not happen. We’re going to give this an 8/10 give the fact that is it likely gluten-free but we cannot say that is 100% true all of the time.


  • former employee

    The meat used in the chili does NOT come in contact with the buns. If it has been on the grill to long it is moved to a heater drawer, than at the end of each shift it is put in sealed bags which are then frozen. Taken out the next day thawed in a pan of water on the grill, mashed than pit in the chili pot, to be made I to chili.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Thank you – excellent info!

  • former manager

    As a former manager I can tell you that the chili meat doesn’t come into contact with tbe buns as all sandwiches are made to order. “Chili meat” is meat that gets too burned or dried out and moves from the grill to a dedicated drawer. The sandwich makers have their own different colored spatulas to put tbe patties on the bun, so the spatula touching the chili meat shouldn’t have ever even touched the meat. Of course this is provided there isn’t an employee not following procedures.

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!