Are Planters Peanuts Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart4 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 4/10

Planters Peanuts are a Kraft product, so there is no official list of their gluten free products. Instead, Kraft lists allergen information on the nutrition label, so be sure to check each individual product for ingredients containing gluten. Since this product is not certified gluten free and is not manufactured in a dedicated facility, we recommend those with extreme sensitivity avoid Planters Peanuts. Ingredients and manufacturing processes can change, so please read the ingredient and nutrition label carefully.  Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!


  • borgie

    I love Peanuts, but every time I eat even a handful of planters peanuts–The typical gluten problems start about 15 minutes later and continue all night. Why would Kraft foods not make this product without gluten. Why do they not care about people getting sick with their products.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi Borgie. Are you really sensitive to gluten? The peanuts themselves are gluten-free but there is definitely a chance for cross-contamination- possibly from shared equipment.

  • Leslie Ament

    Planters Dry Roasted Peanuts: May 5, 2015 I just got off the phone with “Myra” who told me the major allergens are listed on all of their products EXCEPT FLAVORINGS when they are sourced from a third party. I told her that ALL major allergens MUST be listed or made available to those who call for this product information even if from a third party source per the FDA, but she said she had no further information.

    I will not be buying their products any longer. This kind of subterfuge (Bu11$hit) is unacceptable from a food company.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Leslie – this is extremely surprising to hear and a little strange that a co with a strong allergen declaration policy leaves the door open for these kinds of issues.

  • Teresa

    I have severe food allergies — corn, rice, soy, and casein (milk). Although none of these ingredients are listed on the Planters “Nutrition” packaging, these nuts immediately made me sick. 🙁 Do not recommend.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Thanks for sharing – very interesting that a product that most would think is inherently GF would cause all these reactions….

  • Steph Letterson

    Definitely something in the flavoring or cross contamination. Felt off one night after eating some with other snacks- wasn’t sure why. At a handful the next day by themselves, and my gut pain started within 15 minutes.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi Steph! Thanks for the comment and for sharing your experience. Hopefully this serves as a word of warning for other visitors.

  • Kel

    I made my own trail mix using Planter’s peanuts. All ingredients I used other than the peanuts were confirmed to be gluten free. Although peanuts are gluten free by nature, I have found that I have a reaction to Planter’s peanuts. I’m guessing there are traces of wheat from the plant where they’re processed.

  • jl1057

    I have celiac disease and also have a reaction to Planter’s peanuts.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Thanks for sharing your experience…seems to fit right in line with what others have experienced.

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!