Is Canned Tuna Gluten Free?

glutenfreechart9 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 9/10

Regular canned tuna is gluten-free. The only thing you need to be careful about when eating prepackaged tuna products is if it is a “flavored” or a “meal kit” type of product.

For example, all Chicken of the Sea tuna products are gluten-free except for

• Tuna Salad Lunch Solutions Kit
• Tuna Salad Kits (foodservice sizes)
• Smoked Teriyaki Oysters
• Coastal Cuisine Tuna in a Ginger Sauce With Rice
• Coastal Cuisine Tuna in a Light Pineapple Sauce With Rice
• Coastal Cuisine Tuna in a Teriyaki Sauce With Rice

and all Starkist tuna products are gluten-free except for:

  • Tuna Creations® Herb & Garlic contains wheat and barley.
  • The crackers in the StarKist Lunch to-Go® and Tuna Salad Lunch to-Go®

  • Kenneth Brown

    I’m concerned because some canned tuna lists “vegetable broth (soy)” as an ingredient. Since soy is frequently contaminated with wheat from processing in common equipment, I worry about cross contamination. I never buy anything with soy in it unless it is labeled as gluten free. Had a nasty reaction to eating a can of tuna a couple of weeks ago, so I’m wondering if the soy in it was responsible.

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!