Is Imitation Crab Meat Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart1 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 1/10

Almost all imitation crab meat that’s out there contains wheat, which means it is not gluten-free. Trans-Ocean makes a specific imitation crab meat that does not use gluten ingredients, and the company makes their products in a dedicated gluten-free facility. Please read the ingredient and nutrition label carefully. Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!


  • crabby

    Aldi’s immitation crab is labeled gluten free.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Well that’s pretty awesome! We’ll have to check that out. Aldi’s is making a strong push into the GF market.

  • MJS8725

    Trans-Ocean’s site says they now have a dedicated gluten-free facility as of Fall 2014.

    • theglutenfreebar

      That’s great to know – thanks for the comment – we updated this article to reflect that information.

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!