Are Pringles Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart0
Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 0/10

If you’re a Pringles fan we’re afraid we have some bad news. At the time of this writing, all Pringles contain wheat (usually wheat starch) which definitely make them NOT gluten-free. We’re sorry to burst your bubble but you should avoid Pringles if you need to eat gluten-free. There are many other chips out there that don’t contain gluten but always be sure to check the ingredient label. Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!

[Updated: June 2016]


  • Rich

    I have coeliac disease. I eat Pringles as the ingredient listed is Wheat Dextrose. Although these ingredients are made from cereals which contain gluten, they have been processed (hydrolysed) so no gluten remains. Therefore it is safe to eat.

    • Nightblade Irelia

      its not, im celiac too and I was eating them and and now i have problems and lost 4kg again!

    • Dave

      You should not assume that because you don’t react that others won’t either. You may well be correct, but some people react to the components of gluten even after it has been broken down.

  • theglutenfreebar

    That’s interesting Rich. There is a thread about this on celiac.com – this seems like a popular issue in the UK http://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/50953-confused-wheat-dextrose-is-it-safe/ Even though it may be safe to eat, since it contains a gluten ingredient i don’t think we can change our rating on this product.

  • Sonja

    Pringles chips are definitely with gluten. On that box is written wheat starch.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Thanks Sonja

    • Roger Lewis

      Actually it says “Wheat dextrose” which has been processed in such a way and contains no gluten. (<20ppm)

      • theglutenfreebar

        Thanks for the comment Roger. That may be true but I think people still have reactions to wheat dextrose and it’s still tough to eat something that contains the word “wheat” in it 😉

        • Denise Robinson

          Yep -I had a major reaction 🙁

  • sara

    I’m celiac iv noticed every time I eat pringles I get very porli it says they gulten free but now I’m not so sure

  • Olivia Persaud

    Normal Pringles contain gluten, however, the new tortilla range of Pringles have some flavours that do not contain gluten ☺

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi Olivia. Thanks for the comment. Are you sure about this? I just looked at the ingredients for original, southwestern ranch, and nacho cheese and they all say they contain wheat. Check it out here https://www.pringles.com/us/products/tortillas/truly-original.html

      • Graham Hart

        I know this is an old post, but i just want to confirm that the Tortilla sour cream didnt have gluten in them, my boy was very excited and loved to eat pringles again. This week tho we were shopping and they were on offer. We always recheck packaging in and out on foods even if we have bought them all along, as some products add gluten later (such as Vimto, which as his fave drink, but he can no longer drink it due to them adding barley). The Sour cream pringles tortilla have now had wheat added to them. We went to the shelves to see if they had any of the old stock left, and luckily they did, so we picked some of the last gluten free ones up in that store and had to explain to my boy he can no longer have them. I found this post by googling ‘pringles gluten free’ as im getting fed up with companies changing around their products with such small insignificant seeming changes that then isolate people with allergies. Why add wheat now? does it really change the taste? does it really make production cheaper enough that you can still make money despite knocking away some of your market? I dont know where to go to voice my opinions. But with both Vimto and Pringles recently doing that, and them being his fave things both before and after diagnosis, im feeling really frustrated

        • theglutenfreebar

          Graham – we really appreciate your comments here. While this is an older post we regularly review our listings for changes and had not seen any evidence pointing to a change in Pringles gluten-free status. That’s interesting that sour-cream was GF and now is not – just goes to show how quickly food manufacturers can change their recipes and how hard it is to stay on top of that. As manufacturers of gluten-free foods ourselves (the parent co behind this blog is theglutenfreebar.com) we recognize that GF consumers want a brand they can trust and we make everything in our own certified GF facility. Give us a try if you would like – we guarantee you will enjoy our products or your money back. Coupon code “certifiedGF” is good for 15% off. Thanks again.

  • Northeast Group

    A great Alternative to pringles is the sensible portions stacked veggie chips.

    Northeast Group Exporters is an exclusive exporters.

The GFB: Now available at Target!


We’re thrilled to announce that The GFB is now available in many Target stores across the country! Find your nearest Target that carries The GFB

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!

Need some gluten-free help? Enter your email and we will send you a FREE copy of our gluten-free guide!