Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 5/10
In its traditional fermented form, tempeh is made from soybeans and vinegar only which would hypothetically make it gluten-free (always check your vinegars to make sure they are gluten-free). But here’s the rub: most store bought tempeh contains other grains with those soybeans, and those other grains are usually not gluten-free.
We did find one brand of tempeh that is completely gluten-free, and it’s made by Tofurky. Check out this page to learn more! Please read the ingredient and nutrition label carefully. Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!